Writing Romance

As I mentioned in the last post, I am trying to figure out how I can increase my writing stamina. My goal is to make as much as I was teaching while working 30 hours a week. Which currently means unpaid work takes a back burner.

As NaNoWriMo approaches, that concerns me. I need to meet this challenge, but I need the time and brain power to do it.

One solution I have found actually has multiple benefits. I have established regular writing dates with my husband. Saturday and Sunday morning we get up, make coffee, and retreat to the writing table on the porch and write. I literally have to hold his shoulders, look him in the eye and say, “Get your computer and go outside and write!” Then I interrupt him over and over as he tries to give me excuses and a heavy ToDo list.

It’s a very loving wife act! No really, it is! It’s romantic, it gets him doing what he truly loves and hopefully someday can do for his career. THAT is a good wife, so take that Paul and his cretinous followers! (Dude, the etymology of the word cretinous goes from obtuse to Christian in its derivative! That is the most amazingly perfect word I have ever used!)

Sorry, life just bled through my blog. But that was beautiful.

As I was saying.

Sometimes on these writing dates my husband and I work on a writing prompt together, and sometimes we work on our ongoing projects. Sometimes we share, sometimes we don’t. Often we briefly look up at each other as our mind searches for the perfect word, and sometimes we have a discussion to find that word. We still haven’t figured out how to responsibly occupy our children so they aren’t compelled to distract us, but I am proud of the example we are setting for them.

It’s Saturday morning…wait, it’s after noon now. Just now I asked him if it was okay to separate my and self, because I want to call attention to my person of self. And he came up with a beautiful little phrase that, technically, we have been working on for weeks. It’s come up in my blog, he’s struggling with this idea as his district tells him how to teach his students to write, we talk about it all the time, but we have just now articulated.

You can’t teach art. Art is breaking the rules. You can teach the rules, but you can’t teach how to break them.

And we rejoiced together.

This is the best time of the week.

What are you thinking after reading this post? What is your response to these thoughts?

